By Dan Shepard and Sharon Birch

United Nations calls for nominations for the 2018 Public Service Awards 

New York, 19 December –  To recognize innovation and excellence in public service that supports the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, the United Nations is calling for nominations for the 2018 UN Public Service Awards.

Established in 2003, the UN Public Service Awards are a prestigious international programme that recognizes exceptional public service innovation. Since 2003, the UN has received over 3000 nominations from around the globe in such areas as health, education, accountability, and gender equality.

“Public service is a critical component for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals,” said UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres.  “But we need to pioneer new approaches, work differently, take risks and innovate. This means training in new skills and building the capacities of the public sector.  And it means seizing the potential of technological” innovations to create more responsive, efficient and collaborative public services.”

The 2018 Award recognizes achievements and contributions by public service institutions in:

  • Reaching the poorest and most vulnerable through inclusive services and partnerships;
  • Making institutions inclusive and ensuring participation in decision-making; and
  • Promoting gender responsive public services to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

For each category, the 2018 Award winners will be chosen from each of the regional groups: Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Eastern Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Western Europe and Other Groups, ensuring a level playing field for nominations coming from different parts of the world.

The 2018 Award aims to discover innovations to make public service delivery effective and responsive as a path towards achieving the SDGs, stressing the key principle of leaving no one behind. It also provides a platform of knowledge sharing and exchange of innovative practices for public sector institutions at all levels to realize the 2030 Agenda.

The 2018 Awards ceremony will take place on 23 June 2018 —UN Public Service Day—, as designated by the UN General Assembly to celebrate the value and virtue of public service to the community and recognize the work of public servants.  The ceremony will take place during the UN Public Service Forum in the Kingdom of Morocco.

For more information, please visit:

Media contacts:

UN Department of Public Information
Dan Shepard, T: +1 (212) 963-9495 | E:
Sharon Birch, T: +1 (212) 963-0564 | E:


UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs
Mimi Wang, T: +1 (212) 963-0732 | E: